MIN READ
Your biggest tax refund, guaranteed!
We'll maximize your refund, or we pay you $100. Terms apply.
Find a locationKey takeaways
- In most states, state taxes are due April 15 (the same day as federal taxes), but some states have later deadlines or no income tax at all.
- Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, and Wyoming all have no state income tax. New Hampshire and Washington don’t tax wages either; however, New Hampshire taxes business income and Washington taxes significant capital gains.
- Many states accept federal tax deadline extensions, but some states require you to file a separate state form, and some others grant automatic extensions regardless of whether you file a federal extension or not.
- If you live in a state with an income tax and meet its requirements to file, you may need to file even if you do not owe state tax.
- Missing your state’s tax deadline can result in penalties and interest if you owe, lost refund money (if you don’t file within 3 years), and potentially a failure-to-file penalty even if you don’t owe.
- File state taxes with your local Tax Pro or using tax software. You can also file online using the state’s official Department of Revenue or Department of Taxation website in most states, or by mail.
- You can file your state tax and federal tax returns in any order, as long as you file each return by the deadlines.
In this article, we’ll cover what you need to know about state tax returns, including when taxes are due in every state, whether or not federal extensions affect state tax deadlines, how to request a tax extension in your state, and more.
When are state taxes due?
In most states with an income tax, state tax returns are due on the same day as federal returns, which is April 15, in most years. But some states have later deadlines, and there are nine states that don’t tax wages at all.
State tax filing deadlines for all 50 states
Here’s a quick look at when 2026 tax returns are due in each state in 2027, and a link to each state’s official tax website.
| State | 2027 tax deadline |
|---|---|
| Alabama | April 15 |
| Alaska | No income tax |
| Arizona | April 15 |
| Arkansas | April 15 |
| California | April 15 |
| Colorado | April 15 |
| Connecticut | April 15 |
| Delaware | April 30 |
| Florida | No income tax |
| Georgia | April 15 |
| Hawaii | April 20 |
| Idaho | April 15 |
| Illinois | April 15 |
| Indiana | April 15 |
| Iowa | April 30 |
| Kansas | April 15 |
| Kentucky | April 15 |
| Louisiana | May 17 (usually May 15, but it falls on a Saturday in 2027) |
| Maine | April 15 |
| Maryland | April 15 |
| Massachusetts | April 15 |
| Michigan | April 15 |
| Minnesota | April 15 |
| Mississippi | April 15 |
| Missouri | April 15 |
| Montana | April 15 |
| Nebraska | April 15 |
| Nevada | No income tax |
| New Hampshire | No individual income tax (business returns are due April 15) |
| New Jersey | April 15 |
| New Mexico | April 15 |
| New York | April 15 |
| North Carolina | April 15 |
| North Dakota | April 15 |
| Ohio | April 15 |
| Oklahoma | April 15 |
| Oregon | April 15 |
| Pennsylvania | April 15 |
| Rhode Island | April 15 |
| South Carolina | April 15 |
| South Dakota | No income tax |
| Tennessee | No income tax |
| Texas | No income tax |
| Utah | April 15 |
| Vermont | April 15 |
| Virginia | May 3 (usually May 1, but it falls on a Saturday in 2027) |
| Washington | No income tax, but returns with significant capital gains are due April 15 |
| West Virginia | April 15 |
| Wisconsin | April 15 |
| Wyoming | No income tax |
States with no income tax
Alaska, Florida, Nevada, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming don’t tax individual wages. That means most people don’t have to worry about filing tax returns. But take note that Washington taxes capital gains, and New Hampshire taxes business income.
Before you start packing up to move to a no-income-tax state, take note that there may be trade-offs. Many states make up for lost income tax revenue through higher sales taxes, property taxes, or excise fees.
Do federal extensions apply to state returns?
Federal tax extensions don’t automatically apply to state returns. It depends on the type of federal extension it is and the state in question.
When dealing with federal tax extensions due to natural disasters, most states will automatically extend their tax deadlines to match the IRS. However, some states have their own rules and timelines, so make sure that you check your state’s official tax website (links in the table above).
Federal tax extensions are requested by filing Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return, but the process can be a bit more complicated state-side.
If the IRS grants you a federal tax extension after you complete Form 4868, most states honor it. Other states require you to file a separate form for a state extension, and some grant extensions automatically, even if you don’t file Form 4868.
Keep in mind that an extension to file isn’t an extension to pay (except in cases of natural disasters). If you owe state tax, most states require you to pay all or most of what you owe by the deadline, even if it honors the IRS’s extension to file.
State extension deadlines and how to request one
How you request a state tax extension depends on the state you live in, as does the extension deadline. As we mentioned, some states honor approved federal extensions with Form 4868, some states require you to file a separate form for a state tax extension, and other states grant automatic extensions with no form at all.
Here’s how to request a state tax extension in each state and the extension deadline:
| State | How to request a tax extension | Extension deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Automatic, no request needed | Oct. 15 |
| Alaska | No income tax | N/A |
| Arizona | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Arkansas | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| California | Automatic, no request needed | Oct. 15 |
| Colorado | Automatic, no request needed | Oct. 15 |
| Connecticut | Federal extension accepted if no tax is due | Oct. 15 |
| Delaware | Federal extension accepted if no tax is due | Oct. 15 |
| Florida | No income tax | N/A |
| Georgia | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Hawaii | Automatic, no request needed | Oct. 20 |
| Idaho | Automatic if enough tax is paid by April 15 | Oct. 15 |
| Illinois | Automatic, no request needed | Oct. 15 |
| Indiana | Federal extension accepted | Nov. 15 |
| Iowa | Automatic if 90% of tax is paid by April 30 | Nov. 1 |
| Kansas | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Kentucky | Federal extension accepted (file copy with the state) | Oct. 15 |
| Louisiana | State request required | Nov. 15 |
| Maine | Automatic | Oct. 15 |
| Maryland | Automatic if no tax is due | Oct. 15 |
| Massachusetts | Automatic if at least 80% of tax is paid | Oct. 15 |
| Michigan | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Minnesota | Automatic, no request needed | Oct. 15 |
| Mississippi | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Missouri | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Montana | Automatic, no request needed | Oct. 15 |
| Nebraska | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Nevada | No income tax | N/A |
| New Hampshire | No income tax | N/A |
| New Jersey | Federal extension accepted (file a copy with the state) | Oct. 15 |
| New Mexico | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| New York | State request required | Oct. 15 |
| North Carolina | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| North Dakota | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Ohio | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Oklahoma | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Oregon | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Pennsylvania | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Rhode Island | Federal extension accepted if no tax is due | Oct. 15 |
| South Carolina | Federal extension accepted if no tax is due | Oct. 15 |
| South Dakota | No income tax | N/A |
| Tennessee | No income tax | N/A |
| Texas | No income tax | N/A |
| Utah | Automatic if enough tax is paid by April 15 | Oct. 15 |
| Vermont | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Virginia | Automatic, no request needed | Nov. 1 |
| Washington | Capital gains only; federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| West Virginia | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Wisconsin | Federal extension accepted | Oct. 15 |
| Wyoming | No income tax | N/A |
What happens if you miss your state tax deadline?
It depends on your state and if you owe tax.
If you owe tax, you’ll likely face penalties for failing to file and/or failing to pay, as well as interest on unpaid tax and penalties. In many states, tax authorities can issue tax liens on your property, garnish your wages, levy your bank account, or seize federal or state tax refunds to recoup unpaid tax.
If you do not owe tax, you could still face a penalty for failing to file in some states. A couple of states (Ohio and Rhode Island) even charge a flat failure-to-file penalty if the state owes you a refund.
Furthermore, if your state owes you a tax refund, you must file to claim it. In most states, you have 3 years from the original deadline to claim your refund before you forfeit your money for good.
Do I have to file a state tax return if I do not owe taxes?
You may have to file even if you do not owe state tax. As we mentioned, some states charge failure-to-file penalties regardless of whether you owe or not, and the only way to get your state tax refund is to file a return. You may also need to file in a state where you earned income but don’t live, as a nonresident or part-year resident.
Where to file your state return?
You can e-file your state return through tax software or a tax pro, and some states also let you file directly on their Department of Revenue website. If you prefer to file by mail, you can download and print the forms from your state’s tax website and mail the completed forms to the address on your instructions.
Whether you’re filing a state or federal return, it’s always smart to file with your local Jackson Hewitt Tax Pro to avoid costly mistakes and make sure you get every credit, deduction, and dollar you deserve.
Can I file my state tax return after filing my federal return?
You can file your state and federal returns in either order, as long as you file each by its deadline. Some state returns start with numbers from your federal return, though, so it may be easier to complete your federal return first.
Keep in mind is that many tax software programs will not allow you to complete a state return by itself if you have not already filed a federal return or you filed a federal return elsewhere. In this case, you may need to print and mail your state tax documents.
Whether you’re dealing with federal or state taxes, it’s important to file and pay on time to avoid potential penalties and/or get your tax refund promptly. Have questions or concerns about state taxes? Your local Jackson Hewitt Tax Pro is here all year and ready to help. Find tax services near you, then walk in or book now.
Lifetime Accuracy Guarantee
If there is an error preparing your return resulting in an increased tax liability, the local office that prepared your return will reimburse you for penalties and interest (but not additional taxes) owed. You must notify us within 30 days of receiving initial notice from a taxing authority and provide necessary documents and/or assistance. Terms, restrictions, and conditions apply. Most offices are independently owned and operated.
Biggest Refund Guarantee
FEDERAL RETURNS ONLY: If you are entitled to a larger refund (or smaller liability) than we initially determined, we’ll refund the tax prep fees paid for that filed return (other product & service fees excluded) & give you an additional $100. You must submit a valid claim & file an amended return with Jackson Hewitt by the annual IRS deadline for the year of your tax return. Same tax facts must apply. Terms & conditions apply. Most offices are independently owned and operated.
*This content is for general informational purposes only. It is not intended to be comprehensive and should not be construed as professional tax or financial advice for any specific individual tax situation. Taxpayers should always consult a qualified professional for individual guidance. This information constitutes a solicitation under the Treasury Department's Circular 230. Most offices are independently owned and operated.

