Let’s find a tax preparation office for you


Information regarding browser or device support

Oh no! We may not fully support the browser or device software you are using!

To experience our site in the best way possible, please update your browser or device software, or move over to another browser.


What Are the Current US Tax Brackets?

Mark Steber Chief Tax Information Officer Published On June 19, 2019


Income tax rates in the United States are split into seven different groups. Each group is designated by a predetermined amount of taxable income by filing status – these rates are known as tax brackets. Every taxpayer falls into at least one tax bracket.

An individual’s tax bracket is determined by their filing status, as well as their taxable income, so a married couple filing jointly will be in a different tax bracket than they would were they tfile separately. Taxable income means the total of all income from all sources – not just wages – less any adjustments and deductions.

Federal Tax Brackets for 2019

The US tax system is a progressive system of rates based on taxable income. To determine your marginal tax rate – the percent of taxes you actually paid, divide your taxes by your income; the result is your marginal tax rate.  

Each year all tax brackets are slightly broader, based on inflationary adjustments. Generally, if your income remains the same each year, your taxes will go down slightly based on the annual changes.

How Tax Brackets Work

The current income tax brackets are 10, 12, 22, 24, 32, 35, and 37 percent, respectively. Since the IRS uses a progressive tax system, the greater your income, the more taxes you pay. However, this does not mean you pay a fixed tax rate on your entire income. For instance, if your filing status is Single and your taxable income is $29,350, you will pay 10% on the initial $9,525 of your taxable income and 12% on the amount remaining. Prior to tax reform, you would have paid 10% on the initial $9,525, and 15% on the rest of your income. As you can see, you are not usually in one single tax bracket – based on your taxable income, are likely to fall into two or more brackets.

Also, these rates apply to income acquired from ordinary sources. Different rates apply to capital gains income.

State Tax Brackets

Income tax rules and regulations will vary from state to state. Thus, while some states have no income tax, others have a flat rate structure. Still others have tax brackets similar to that of federal taxes, with varying marginal tax rates. For instance, California and Missouri have 10 brackets each, while Hawaii has 12.

The tax brackets change each year based on inflationary adjustments – so be sure you are using the correct year’s tax rates when determining your taxes.

About the Author

Mark Steber is Chief Tax Information Officer, responsible for key initiatives that support overall tax service delivery and quality assurance. Mark also serves as a Jackson Hewitt liaison with the Internal Revenue Service, states, and other government authorities. With over 30 years of tax experience and deep knowledge of the federal and state tax codes, Mark is widely referenced as an expert on consumer income tax issues, especially electronic-tax and data-protection issues.

View Mark's LinkedIn Profile Jackson Hewitt Editorial Policy

Related articles

What Are IRS FBAR Filing Requirements?

If you have $10,000 or more invested in a total of all foreign accounts or estates, and you are required to file a US tax return, you must file the Report of Foreign Bank and Financial Accounts (FBAR) annually.

View more

How to Get Your W-2 From a Previous Employer

There are certain documents you need to have to file your tax return – your W-2, also known as your wage and tax statement, is one of them. Under normal circumstances, companies will issue W-2s in January to give you precise information on how much money you made during the past year and the amount that was withheld as taxes on income, Medicare, and Social Security. In most cases, your employer has until January 31 to give you your W-2. This deadline is extended by a few days if January 31 happens to fall on a weekend.

View more

What is an IRS CP2000 Notice?

A CP2000 letter, “Notice of Underreported Income,” is not a formal audit that would require a full tax examination by the IRS. It is, however, an automatically generated letter, which is a notice from the IRS essentially saying, “We don’t think you reported all of your income so we are proposing a change to your return.”

View more

Why Jackson Hewitt®?

We’ll work hard for you

Our Tax Pros will answer your questions, provide tax tips, and help you get smarter about your money.

We know our stuff

Jackson Hewitt is a leader in the tax industry, having prepared millions of tax returns in more than 35 years.

We’ll make it easy

We’re committed to helping you, fast and efficiently. Taxes done how you want and when you want.